Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community


KS3 Assessment

Attainment targets and levels, which were introduced with the National Curriculum in 1988, are no more. There were a variety of problems with the use of National Curriculum Levels, and their removal means that schools have been tasked with developing their own way of assessing children’s progress. At Oasis Leesbrook, we agreed that levels were not very accurate and that they were potentially distracting from learning and the feedback we actually wanted students to act on. As a new school, we have an opportunity to design an assessment system that first and foremost supports teaching and learning.

Click here to access our Guide for Parent & Carers.

KS4 Assessment

Y10 and 11 are assessed using a “most likely grade”, and progress is reported to parents and carers 3 times per year.  A guide to the reports can be found here.

Performance Measures

  School Local Authority National Average
Progress 8 score -0.12 -0.19 -0.03
Students entering the EBACC qualification. 91% 31% 39%
Grade 5 or above in GCSE English & Maths 23% 43% 50%
Attainment 8 score 40.6 44.6 48.8
EBACC average point score 3.73 3.79 4.27


Performance Measures for disadvantaged students.

  School Local Authority National Average
Progress 8 score -0.24 0.02 0.15
Attainment 8 score 33.7 49.2 52.8
Grade 5 or above in GCSE English & Maths 11% 51% 57%
Grade 4 or above in GCSE English & Maths 26% 72% 76%
EBACC at a grade 5+  4% 21% 24%
EBACC at a grade 4+ 9% 28% 31%

What is Progress 8?

From 2016 all students and schools will be measured on how much progress they make from when they start year 7 to when they complete their exams at the end of year 11. It is based on progress across 8 subjects across a broad and balanced curriculum.

Scores will always be determined by dividing the student's points total by 10 (the 8 qualifications with English and Mathematics counting for double) regardless of how many qualifications are sat.

Below is a 3 minute video from the DfE to help explain Progress 8 further.


What is Attainment 8?

Attainment 8 is similar to Progress 8, however this measures attainment rather than progress accross the years over the same 8 subjects.

How does the new GCSE assessment system work?

Many of you will know that the courses and exams for GCSE students were recently changed. The reason is to ensure that young people have the knowledge and skills they need to suceed and be graded fairly. They cover more challenging content and are designed to match standards in the strongest educational systems throughout the world.

  • GCSEs in England will have a new scale from 9 (the highest) to 1 (the lowest)
  • The old GCSE grading system do not directly compare, however alignments can be made between the letters A*-F and the Scale 9-1
  • They have been designed this way to differentiate between student performance, and support those students who sit at the top of their grade banding

Please see this short video from AQA to help you understand how the grade system translates.